the beginning.

today was my first official day of the summer internship at Northminster. I got to meet a bunch of people who work at the church, some of the middle school girls, and a handful of the other leaders that I’ll be working with throughout this summer. today was full of information about the next few weeks and the summer as a whole, and after looking at all of it, I can say that I’m even more excited for this summer. :)

we talked about 2 Corinthians 1:18-22 this morning during devotions and I really liked it, so I thought I’d share that with you.

“but as surely as God is faithful, our message to you is not “yes” and “no.” for the Son of God, Jesus Christ, who was preached among you by us — by me and Silas and Timothy — was not “yes” and “no,” but in him it has always been “yes.” for no matter how many promises God has made, they are “yes” in Christ. and so through him the “amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God. now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. he anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.”

it’s been a long day, so I don’t quite remember what Rich said about this, but trust that it was really good (and if I remember, I’ll let you know). and when I say that it’s been a long day, I mean that it was long enough that by the end of it, I was asking how to spell “school.”

I also got to (finally!) meet Laura today. she’s Northminster’s two-year intern right now and she graduated from Calvin last spring. I had heard a lot about her from various people, so it was really great to actually meet her. we like a lot of the same things, so I think we’ll get along really great… once we can look past the fact that I live in BV and she lived in SE while she was at Calvin (to those of you who don’t know, BV and SE are kind of like rival dorms).

this summer is going to be really satisfying, but also very busy, so definitely don’t expect new posts every day. I have Fridays off, so that’s probably when I’ll blog each week, but I may post throughout the week, too, if there’s something good to let y’all know about.

today’s requests:
– tomorrow is the first night of 18/28, a college and young adult ministry that we’re starting up this summer. my intern partner-in-crime, Jake, is doing a lot of the leading for this group, so that should be really cool. pray that we have a successful first night and that final preparations for it go well.
-prayers for continued strength for the next few days would be great, too, as we go from vacation time to pretty intense work weeks.

Leave a Reply

