windmills.

as you can imagine, I spend a lot of time each day thinking about staying in Ohio and transferring to the Mount this fall. today I want to share some of those thoughts with you, thoughts that are all centered around windmills.

let me back up a second.

last weekend, we had a retreat for 18/28 (Northminster’s college/young adult group) at The Springs (a really wonderful retreat “center” in Indiana that Jake’s grandparents help run). on Saturday morning, Jake’s grandma lead us through an exercise that involved us looking at a bunch of different pictures, choosing one we felt was speaking to us, and then analyzing it to find different things that could be relevant to our lives. one of the first pictures I saw… well, I knew I was supposed to choose that one, but I decided to walk around and look at the rest of the pictures, just in case I was jumping to conclusions. I figured I would take it if no one else had taken it by the time I got back around. and no one had, so this is the picture I chose:

to you, this may just be a picture of windmills in a field. but to me, this was a huge sign from God. why’s that? well, here’s what I saw the first time I drove down to Cincinnati and again when I was driving back from a visit to Grand Rapids this week (and technically while driving up there, too, I suppose):

a field full of windmills.

when I see these windmills off in the distance, I know that part two of the journey (Indiana) is almost complete. I know that I will soon be back in Ohio, where there is “so much to discover!” I know that I am almost back to the place that I currently call home. and I’m completely at peace when I see these windmills.

after visiting Grand Rapids this week, spending 12+ hours in my car (here’s to no A/C in 95+ degree weather!), and having time to hang out with God and seriously think about what is in store for this fall, I have found peace. I have found confidence. it’s becoming more and more evident each day why it is that I’m here in Cincinnati this summer, working with this team and these kids at Northminster.

at this point, I don’t know exactly what the future holds, but I do know that I want to figure those specifics out here in Cincinnati, a place I’ve fallen more in love with each and every day.

Leave a Reply

