looking ahead.

this is easily one of the hardest blogs I’ve written this summer, but alas, it must be done.

after a very long six weeks of praying and thinking and rethinking and engaging in many conversations about many different things, I’ve decided to remain in Cincinnati this fall.

I’m writing this with tears in my eyes, tears of sadness, but also tears of joy.

I’m sad to be leaving Grand Rapids, the place I’ve called home for over 20 years. I’m sad to be leaving Calvin College, the school that I thought was perfect for me. I’m sad to be leaving Beets-Veenstra, the dorm that reminded me what true community is. I’m sad to be leaving Team Awesome, the friends that kept me company on late nights of homework. I’m especially sad to be leaving my Hannahs, two of the best friends that someone could ever ask for.

but I’m also overjoyed and incredibly excited.

I’m excited to remain in Cincinnati, a place I’ve learned to love to call home (apparently “once you go ‘nati, you never go back”). I’m excited to remain a leader at Northminster. I’m excited to stay connected with and continue investing in the girls I met this summer. I’m excited to go to cross country meets this fall and to see the kids I’ve run with this summer improve in their running and fulfill their goals. I’m especially excited to see how God is going to continue to work in and through me here in this place.

there’s probably a lot more I could say, but I’m really struggling with words tonight… anyway, I’m open to any questions you may have and I’d love to talk to you about this more, if you’d like. :)

Leave a Reply

