I can’t believe I’m blogging about vocation/calling.

Buechner vocation quote

I’ve heard this quote many times in the past two years (mostly thanks to dear ol Calvin College), but it really resonated with me when it was used in this week’s sermon at church.

I’ve thought a lot about my calling, especially over the past 14 months or so. I’m still trying to figure out why I’m here in Cincinnati. I think part of me knows, to an extent, at least. I’ve learned so much about myself and others and Jesus since I moved here. the people I’ve met through my internship last summer and cross country last fall (and various other places, including my small group with the Navigators this past spring) are so beautiful and have impacted my life so much. they’ve taught me how to really love Jesus and who he created me to be. they’ve given me a deeper understanding of what true community is, what family is.

I’ve wrestled lately with what my “deep gladness” is. I think it’s just being, ya know? being there for people when they most need it. loving people unconditionally (as much as an imperfect human being can, I suppose). serving in every way possible.

one specific deep gladness I have is serving the marginalized. I don’t know yet what that looks like here in Cincinnati, but I see it so often and it sparks something within me. I drive through poverty-stricken areas so near to where I live and I long to see change in these places. to see change, to see beauty, to see redemption… to see Jesus be known in these places.

I don’t really know what I’m doing with my life, but I do know that there’s no place I’d rather be. this city and its people are so incredibly beautiful to me; simply doing life here brings me so much joy.

if you happen to be in the area and know of something that may be what I’m searching for, please do let me know. :)

Leave a Reply

