Words from a Scattered Heart

He turns my bitter into sweet. Or so the worship songs say.

//

Today is Easter, a day of celebration of Christ’s resurrection. I understand that we’re all “oh, happy day” about this, but damn, it is hard to embrace “death, where is your sting?” in a time of grief.

//

God in my laughing
There in my weeping
God in my hurting
God in my healing

Be my everything

//

Y’all, I’m trying. I’m trying to hold on to His truth. I’m trying to feel His joy, His love, His strong embrace.

But it is HARD.

//

I long for a day without grief and lament, sadness and sorrow, hurting and pain.

I long for a day with laughter and joy, tears only brought on by hope and gladness.

//

I feel lost in the pain – Jesus, please find me; make beautiful things out of my dust.

Give me faith.

One thought on “Words from a Scattered Heart

  1. Oh friend. I’m so sorry. You’re right, life this side of heaven is full of pain. Often it feels more like Good Friday than Easter Sunday and it’s hard to hold onto hope. But Jesus, He is our hope. He carries your cross with you, I promise. My prayers and my heart are with you.

Leave a Reply

